Large House, South Devon 12 miles from Exeter

United Kingdom - Devon - Teignmouth

Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,The back of our house. Who left the ladder out?
The back of our house. Who left the ladder out?
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,the view of the river Teign from our bedroom
The view of the river Teign from our bedroom
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,Our kitchen / diner.  New sofa since then
Our kitchen / diner. New sofa since then
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,Ballroom,  table tennis table. Now redecorated
Ballroom, table tennis table. Now redecorated
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,the main bedroom (big and has views of the river)
The main bedroom (big and has views of the river)
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,Us a few years ago in Seville. T, N, F and me
Us a few years ago in Seville. T, N, F and me
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,A view of Dartmoor about 5 mins walk away
A view of Dartmoor about 5 mins walk away
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,The inner hallway, through to the utility room
The inner hallway, through to the utility room
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,The main bathroom
The main bathroom
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,House photos, home images
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,Our entrance /conservatory - sofa not there now
Our entrance /conservatory - sofa not there now
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,kitchen
Kitchen
Home exchange in,United Kingdom,Teignmouth,Family room - bigger TV now!
Family room - bigger TV now!
  • Sleeping capacity8
  • Bedrooms4
  • Bathrooms2

Simultaneous Home Exchange

Homesit Offered

Smoking Not Allowed

Children Welcome

Car Exchange is not offered

We are looking for a home exchange in ...

Jan 1, 2021 - Dec 31, 2021 | Japan

Our Home For Exchange

Description of the home we are offering for exchange

Beautiful, large, historic, unusual old house in S Devon village. 5 mins drive from sea. Lovely views of River Teign & rolling hills from the house. Spacious, high ceilings & original fireplaces. The kitchen is 8 x 6m & v well equipped. There are 2 large receptions (incl. a ballroom with table tennis table, TV, DVD player, stationary exercise bike and Concept 2 Rower) & an entrance conservatory 9m x 5m.

The garden is pretty: 1/3 acre, great views, vegetable patch, BBQ, sun loungers, large patio & lawn, totally enclosed. We are equipped for kids, but some steps inside with wide-spaced banisters make house unsuitable for young toddlers.

All 4 bedrooms are large enough for a double bed; there are 2 double rooms & 2 children's rooms. The master bedroom has a super King Size bed, open fire, views and en-suite shower room. The guest room has a double bed. One of the children's rooms has a single bed and has a ladder leading to a loft room where there is a double futon (making a makeshift 5th bedroom). This ladder can be packed away into the loft hatch and this extra bedroom disappears! Our daughter's room has a single bed and a single futon and is large.

The house is full of character - you will not be disappointed! In Spring 2020, the outside of the house will be re-painted, so it will be even better.

Type

House - 2 or more floors/ Main Residence


Amenities

  • Cleaning service available
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes Washer
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Microwave Oven
  • Peaceful Surroundings
  • View
  • Fireplace
  • Privacy / Seclusion
  • Furnished with Antiques
  • Equipped for Children
  • Garden
  • Heating
  • Garage
  • Parking included
  • Terrace / Patio

Entertainment

  • Computer available
  • DVD
  • Internet access
  • TV
  • Wireless Internet (WiFi)
  • Family Room / Playroom

Extras

  • Babysitter available
  • Use of bicycle(s)

Setting

  • Small Town or Village
  • Seaside

Neighbourhood

Description of our neighbourhood and surrounding area

Quiet, friendly village with shop, post office & 1 pub, vineyard, micro-brewery and farm. 2 miles from family-friendly beaches in Teignmouth; 15 mins drive from Dartmoor National Park for hiking; 25 mins drive from historic Exeter and airport. We can recommend a babysitter. Plenty to do - beaches (5 mins), river 10 mins walk, quiet National Trust land and country lanes for walks from village. Or the busier resort features of Torbay (English Riviera) about 20 mins drive if that's more your thing.

Outdoor Activities

  • Beach
  • Biking
  • Canoeing / Kayaking
  • Diving
  • Fishing
  • Golfing
  • Tennis
  • Hiking
  • Public Swimming Pool
  • River
  • Sailing
  • Scuba Diving / Surfing

Leisure

  • Park / Playground
  • Cafés
  • Gym / Health Club
  • Restaurants
  • Shopping

Cultural Activities

  • Concerts
  • Galleries
  • Museums
  • Theatre

Transport Nearby

  • Bus
  • Train Station
  • Car Necessary

Neighbourhood Services

  • Corner Shop
  • Pharmacy

Attractions

Our home exchange - places to go and things to do while staying in our home

Devon is popular holiday destination and there are many attractions within easy reach: countryside, seaside, river, water sports and paying attractions such as zoo, wildlife park, farms etc. The Eden Project is about 1.5 hrs away. There is a train station about 2 miles away.

At least 2 golf courses nearby (3 mins drive: Teignmouth, 10 mins drive: Stover).

Sea fishing, sailing, water sport tuition and boat hire at Teignmouth (5 mins drive.)

Approximately 20 - 30 mins drive from moorland locations used in Spielberg's 'War Horse'.

Our favourite restaurants


Cafés & bars


Special places to shop


Leisure and cultural activities


Walks or jogging paths


Health or fitness clubs


Interesting day trips


Our Preferences

Our home exchange - here are our Preferences and House Rules

We are a family of four who have done seven successful holiday exchanges to: Italy, Germany Denmark, Cumbria, Bath, Oxford and Yorkshire. N is a GP (doctor) and I am a food journalist and antique dealer - we both will hit 50 soon! Son is 19 and daughter 20. Both are very well-behaved and respectful. References are available for previous home exchanges. Katy is allergic to dogs and horses - no pets are allowed in our house. We are all non-smokers and do not allow it in our home. We are open to home exchanges with other UK people due to Covid - we have a new campervan and would prefer to go somewhere where we could park it and make excursions to beautiful places. We also require a large-ish garden. There will probably just be the two of us - our children are at uni.

Conditions

  • Children Welcome
  • Pets Not Allowed
  • Smoking Not Allowed
  • Plant care is needed inside

Car Exchange

  • Car Exchange is not offered

Home Exchange Type

  • Simultaneous Home Exchange
  • Homesit Offered
home-exchange-icon

Leader in house exchange since 1953

Over 65 years of house exchange experience

homelink-network-icon

A worldwide network of home swappers with local support

Local representatives around the world to assist you

swap-step-icon

Home Swapping in 5 Easy Steps

Travel, save and feel at home around the world!

please wait...