Green, peaceful retreat near UVic

Canada - BC - Victoria

Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,Covered patio with water feature - in January!
Covered patio with water feature - in January!
Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,House photos, home images
Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,Living/Dining
Living/Dining
Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,Kitchen
Kitchen
Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,Master bedroom with roof deck
Master bedroom with roof deck
Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,1st bathroom with shower
1st bathroom with shower
Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,2nd bathroom with tub
2nd bathroom with tub
Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,Children's room with trundle beds
Children's room with trundle beds
Home exchange in,Canada,Victoria,Sunroom
Sunroom
  • Sleeping capacity5
  • Bedrooms3
  • Bathrooms2

Simultaneous Home Exchange

Weekend Home Exchange

Sabbatical Home Exchange

Smoking Not Allowed

Children Welcome

Car Exchange is offered/negotiable

View moreView less

We are looking for a home exchange in ...

Open to all dates and destinations

Our Home For Exchange

Description of the home we are offering for exchange

Being retired, I look forward to more opportunities to travel, and being able to travel year round.

In 2018, the house was completely renovated. The result is a modern, minimalist home, set in a mature private garden. The house is open and light filled, with strong indoor/outdoor connections. There is a large covered patio off the living/dining area and an East facing deck, set in a green roof, off the master bedroom - the perfect place for morning coffee/tea.

I enjoy cooking. The kitchen has a gas range, sharp knives and quality cookware. The kitchen is open to the living/dining area and surrounded by windows onto the garden. You can listen to the stereo, and watch the birds while you prepare meals. I value sleep - the matresses are natural latex foam, and have quality down duvets.

I love to have my grandaughers visit. There is a children's bedroom with trundle beds, children's books, toys, highchairs etc., and a sandbox in the garden. Although I have a TV it is only used to stream on-line programing. I do not have cable TV. I have two ocean kayaks. If you are experienced paddlers, you may borrow them.

Type

House - 2 or more floors/ Main Residence


Amenities

  • Balcony / Deck
  • Cleaning service available
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes Washer
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Microwave Oven
  • Peaceful Surroundings
  • Privacy / Seclusion
  • Equipped for Children
  • Garden
  • Heating
  • Baby Equipment
  • Parking included
  • Terrace / Patio

Entertainment

  • Internet access
  • Wireless Internet (WiFi)
  • Family Room / Playroom

Extras

  • Use of bicycle(s)
  • Use of boat

Setting

  • Suburban

Neighbourhood

Description of our neighbourhood and surrounding area

A green and quiet neighbourhood, close to several beaches, and hiking at Mount Douglas Park. The house is are near the University of Victoria. You can walk to an excellent coffee shop, but will need a car/bike/bus to get groceries. There are two bikes with paniers and the house is on a bus route. The closest shopping hub is 4km away.

Outdoor Activities

  • Beach
  • Biking
  • Canoeing / Kayaking
  • Gym / Health Club
  • Hiking

Leisure

  • Park / Playground
  • Cafés

Transport Nearby

  • Bus

Attractions

Our home exchange - places to go and things to do while staying in our home

Using this tranquil home as a base, you can explore the beautiful city of Victoria, and the wonders of Vancouver Island. As a major tourist destination, Victoria is rich with restaurants, and attractions such as the Royal BC Museum, Art Gallery, Buchart's Gardens etc. Day trips can take you to spectacular beaches, lakes, hiking trails, fishing rivers etc. One of Victoria's most significant attributes, is easy access to spectacular natural environments.

Interesting day trips


Our Preferences

Our home exchange - here are our Preferences and House Rules

The garden has many birds. If you enjoy watching them, you will need to fill the feeders. If possible, please feed gold fish in the small pond, and water houseplants once a week.

Conditions

  • Children Welcome
  • Pets Not Allowed
  • Smoking Not Allowed
  • Plant Care Needed

Car Exchange

  • Car Exchange is offered/negotiable

Home Exchange Type

  • Simultaneous Home Exchange
  • Weekend Home Exchange
  • Sabbatical Home Exchange
home-exchange-icon

Leader in house exchange since 1953

Over 65 years of house exchange experience

homelink-network-icon

A worldwide network of home swappers with local support

Local representatives around the world to assist you

swap-step-icon

Home Swapping in 5 Easy Steps

Travel, save and feel at home around the world!

please wait...